11-18-2022 : Pokemon Weekend and Reviews

Woah! The new pokemon games are out! If it wasn't clear, I'm fan of the games, so this has been a pretty good weekend for me, albeit quite busy juggling homework and gamin'. I've gotta say, it's hard for me to not like a pokemon game, even the worst of the mainline games I can have a good time with. That being said, I'm trying my best to be critical about these games, there are some serious issues. There was a lot of complaining about the games pre-launch due to the performance issues in the game, and most of it seemed to be totally reasonable, but the pokemon community has an issue with negativity hype. The same thing happened with Sword and Shoeld, where that game got beaten to shit about honestly pretty minor problems and then ended up being on of my favourite games in the series! The performance issues are quite a bit worse here, but I'll be real and say they really have not impacted my enjoyment of the game *that* much.

It's very easy to get caught up in the torrent of negativity, and like I said it's well-founded. Pokemon is a massive company and these sorts of performance issues are inexcusable... but also good god am I having a blast here. And it's sad to see friends who I know would love the game just as much as me not pick it up due to concerns about performance. I guess I'm lucky here that jank washes over me like a rock most of the time (see: evergrace, the bouncer, etc, etc). The only times it really bothered me were in the first hour or two, and to be honest is was because just before booting it up I watched friends really dig into it, and it skewed my perception. Where I'm at now, about 10 hours in, it has not phased me. You can cherrypick all you want be we aren't crowbcat out here.

Expect a more in-depth review of this game, I have a lot of thoughts on it that I wanna get out. It will likely end up being my first review on this site. I might also end up repurposing and expanding some of my older Backloggd reviews for on here too. My review philosophy going forward on here is gonna be something like:

That's about it for today, sorry for a shorter one, just wanted to get some rambin out, expect some reviews hopefully soon :-) Goobaba.